"Penelope"...I'm beautiful...


Last night I had a chance to have a good look at "Penelope" again. A movie about a young heiress from a family which believe to be curse. She's born having a pig face and just only a man "one of their kind" marry her and the curse will be broken. Time and time again they search for that man but every man's scare of her with just only a glance. Nobody wants to know the real her behind that pig face, sadly. I've came across the topic so many time that I feel so frustrated and sympathetic with the situation. "What make people beautiful?"

As I whined to my friends and my love before that I've felt annoyed with the typical Thai greeting. It's not just only "Hi" or "Hello" but what they add after which always make you choke; such as "What have you done? (in a good way or bad way, they mean)", "You look FAT! (or chubby, just depend but mostly FAT!)", "You gain some weight?" or what I've been encounter so often "Are you pregnant?". Excuse me...? I am just bigger than Thais standard but that doesn't mean to give you an opportunity to be so annoying naive bothering me with those question. I was asked once by a lovely innocent girl and she looked so happy, her eyes were sparkling and nearly jumping up and down all around me when she asked "Are you pregnant?", I didn't mad at her because the way she asked and the way she acted. She just wanted to congratulate me and was so happy if I was expecting which I found it's so cute that she was so excited than myself!

These modern hi-tech day is all about appearance and material. Girls wanna be white and pretty like TV stars. They use every kind of whitening product and try to do everything to be pretty. TV stars wanna be prettier and more famous so they do surgery. Boys wanna look like Korean singers and boybands. Nobody seems to satisfied with they own skin any more. I caught in that self-pity circle for a couple year in my youth time. I had to loose weight to fit in but still they demand for more. Then I realized it wasn't me. I should have lost weight to be healthy and I should have done things just because I want to not because I have to.

So what is beauty? To me, beauty is when you feel comfortable with your truly skin. Beauty is your personality, beauty is your inner-self, beauty is self-confident. Beauty is not just only appearance. Beauty is everything about you and everything that makes you "YOU".

Now I am happy with myself. I am a little bit chubby but also do some exercise just to keep the balance. I still wear glasses and I don't wear make up everyday but I love everything about my body and I don't want to change a thing. Everyone's born unique and we are suppose to stand out not to blend it. So why you want to change? Unless you have an ugly heart then you are as ugly as those you disgust the most. Remember...."I am beautiful." nobody can bring you down but yourself.

Anita

Comments