"Reality TV"....Constructive or Poisonous?




Before the rise of Facebook, I addicted to Reality TV show such as 'Survivor', 'The Bachelor', 'The Bachelorette', 'America Next Top Model', 'Hell's Kitchen', etc. I have to admit that there's something about it that it got me hooked. When their creativity met my curiosity, it was an success to control my TV habit! I'd love and dying to know what's going on in the next episode. I had to be home on time to see it. I went nuts when it's interrupted by special program or when I missed it. It constructed me the habit, the bad one!

What does those Reality TV shows give you? I stop watching some of it now since it starts to get more and more selfishness, aggressive, wearing and dull. I used to love 'Survivor' because it's about an ability to survive in the wild with their smart and strength but now it's all about disgustingly selfishness and their cunning strategies. Or maybe that's the true meaning of 'Survivor' in reality now. It's about who's wiser and who falls as a prey. The charm of 'Survivor' is gradually fading away. Same as the other show, people turns out to be more selfish and aggressive to achieve what they wants. We turns out to be more barbarous rather than civilized that we should have been. Or we have been barbarous all this century waiting for something to stimulate our wild side? Without the brain we are nothing but animal. So what this Reality TV are for? Entertainment? So that we have more choices than watching 'Animal Planet' I suppose...

Some Reality TV show shouldn't have been produced at all; such as 'Newly Wed', 'Jon & Kate plus 8', or anything about celebrity's life. I don't want to see their ridiculously twisted life! It's poison to us and obviously their marriage. 'The Bachelor' & 'The Bachelorette', it's all about cat fight, sexual and liar. I haven't seen any couple succeeds finding truth love on TV or even get marry after the show (except Trista Rehn, the first Bachelorette, who got married with one of the contestant and they're still together). Eventually I also cut those 2 out of my list.

Of course there's still some good program that I like; 'So you think you can dance', 'Biggest Looser' (definitely America one), 'Hell's Kitchen' (even Chef's so unnecessary rude!), 'The Amazing Race' (both American and Asia) and 'America Next Top Model'. But I don't see it as much as I used to now since I realize there's nothing to do with my life. There's so many thing to do rather than just sit, click and watch TV at home.

So, Reality TV shows are constructive or poisonous? Depends on how you take it...But remember one thing, there's something else in your life to do rather than to see Reality TV which is your Reality, it's your Life...

Anita

Comments

Long time ago The reality shows didnt exited. But because of right now all ppl life are about the competitions....The only one sentence that stuck in my brain from watching this shows

" I am not here to make friends, I am here to WIN"

Thats kill me!!!